Rohrer & Klingner Turquoise Ink Review

Today I want to share with you a little review of the ink I used for my little Fountain Pen Day calligraphy composition, which is Rohrer & Klingner Zeichentusche in Türkis (Turquoise).


Rohrer & Klingner is a well-known German ink maker. They also produce fountain pen ink, but the Zeichentusche range is only recommended for dip pen nibs and brushes, as the pigments contained in it will certainly clog most fountain pens. However, I have been successful at using this ink in my Pilot Parallel pens with no clogging problems whatsoever (seriously, these pens are nearly indestructible). Even in the event that clogging occurred, the Parallel pens are easy to take apart and clean up.


Materials: Pilot Parallel 3.8mm, Tachikawa G nib, R&K Calligraphy ink, Rhodia paper

The picture above shows an accurate representation of how the color of the ink looks in normal daylight conditions, which is more teal than turquoise in my opinion. In the Parallel pen the ink flows very good and smoothly, but it does run darker than if you use an italic dip nib. It also shades beautifully on paper, going from teal to an almost-black tone, it dries relatively quickly (this lefty still has to make pauses after a couple of words for the largest pools of ink to dry) but once it’s dry it’s waterproof and smudgeproof. For this sample I used Rodhia paper and there was no feathering or bleedthrough.

Since this is a pigmented ink, at some angles you get to see metallic particles that reflect the light in a different color than that of the ink, which in the fountain pen world is known as “sheen”. While the sheen on this ink is not particularly strong or visible in natural light it does jump at you when you hold your writing at an angle, under artificial light.


Pink sheen

All in all it’s a very well behaved ink, in a beautifully shading color. The only downside is that it may not see much use because of the restriction of not being able to use it in fountain pens, but is a nice option for calligraphy practice (I’ve already gone through 1/4 of my bottle).

I got this ink from Jetpens, in an order I placed last year, when the ink was $12 for 50ml  (it’s currently reduced to $10.20).

I hope that you liked my little review and writing sample. Thanks for reading and see you soon! (like, for reals, I have the writing sample done and everything, just need to take pics).


  1. I really like this color! I agree that it appears more of teal than turquoise. R&K drawing ink has been on my JetPens wish list for awhile, but I can’t seem to make up my mind because I would only use it to do lettering and nothing else; the ink might dry up before I get to the bottom of it :p
    Nice practice, by the way. Ink testing/review is very time consuming. It often takes a lot more than you assumed!

Leave a Reply

